Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Javascript help needed (mulitline tooltips!)

blizeHblizeH ✭✭
edited October 2006 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Hi there chaps, apologies for posting this here, but I'm under the impression there are plenty of JS whizkids on this site so here seems like a good place to ask! :-)

I'm trying to get a multiline tooltip effect but I'm not having much luck. I've tried quite a few, but eventually opted for this one, I managed to get it working just fine, but needed to change it so it would display at the position of the mouse cursor instead of a set position, and, err, it didn't go too well! :-) I've never used Javascript before but tried to implement the code at the bottom of this page with the existing code and I didn't have a lot of luck. Would anyone be able to help me set up these tooltips correctly please?

Thanks!

Comments

• Have a look at this: http://static.twoday.net/matsblog/stuff/Tooltip/Tooltip.Demo.html
  • edited October 2006
    Adding the js files as it describes you can use the popuptrigger method. simply add a link (trigger for mouse-over) aaand add a logical division to display (like regular html) hover <a href="#tooltipOne" class="tooltipTrigger" id="tooltipTriggerOne">here</a> for the tooltip popup. <div id="tooltipTriggerOnePopUp"> blah blah. add formatted text or images etc here to be displayed on mouse-over of the trigger above </div> This is an excessive method but its extremely easy to implement. which im guessing is what you need. oh and its flexable (text, formatting, images and so on)
  • I am guessing you want the tooltips for when you mouse-over something on the map?

Why not use something like the notes on Flickr images? Those are cool. I believe you can get it down without JS, just using CSS/XHTML.

...but I could be way off.