Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

ModX and Vanilla

VMKYVMKY New
edited February 2008 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
I seen very little discussions of ModX and Vanilla on ModXCMS.com, so I want to throw the question out... have anyone from here us that combo to create a rocking site?

Comments

• Options
    I heard the code behind modX was not the best. Funky app, but not great behind the scenes. A real shame. Would love it to be otherwise.
  • Options
    I'm a developer for MODx, and also contributed to the MODx-Vanilla Bridge (same username on those forums). I decided to hold off my work on the bridge until we roll out 0.9.7 which has been rewritten from the ground up. Our legacy version of MODx was cluttered due to inheritance from the project that we forked from.

Give it some more time, I'm still working on the bridge as I have my own need for it. Look for such features as SSO, Unified User tables, inter-linking, and the ability to attach Vanilla discussions to MODx documents (can't think of a name for that feature yet).
  • Options
    can you give a brief history of ModX
  • Options
    @sirlancealot: great news. I am really happy to hear that this ia happening. Looking forward to a preview. The fact that you are also building a bridge is brilliant news.

Please be sure to keep us updated.
  • Options
    edited February 2008
    From what I understand (I've only been a developer for since Dec 2006), the fork was not a very pleasant one, but I can't say for sure. The next version of MODx will be legacy-code-free, but our goal is to make a smooth upgrade path between the two. Once the project moves to 0.9.7 core, I think you'll all start to hear more about it.