Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Uploading files into BLOB field in MySQL

edited March 2009 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Hello, I'm new to Vanilla. I've got my forum setup almost exactly how I want it. My only issue is that I need to make software installation packages available for download within the forum-- only to members of certain roles-- while preventing download by anyone else (i.e. guests or even authenticated users with the wrong RoleID). I (as the only administrator) will be the only one needing to upload files. All such files will likely be ZIPs under 2mb.

I've been back and forth through the Vanilla Add-ons, and I can't find an upload tool that allows me to prevent downloads by people who aren't logged in, provided they know the web address. Since I'm in a shared hosting environment, I only have access to web-accessible directories, which means any file I upload into the file structure is directly downloadable. I wouldn't be terribly surprised if there's some option or trick here to do what I want (perhaps with the Attachment add-on?), but if so I'm missing something.

One easy way I know of to control access to download files is to read the file data directly into a MEDIUMBLOB field in a MySQL table. I've done this before, and it's simple to code the uploader/downloader utility. My issue is tying it into Vanilla. I've had the hardest time trying to read the Vanilla session variables (simply to grab the userID!), and I've finally given up (even after pouring over every comment I could find on the subject in this community forum).

Thoughts? Suggestions? Smacks upside the head and fingers pointed toward the obvious? Anything would be appreciated! :-)

Comments

• x00x00 MVP
    edited March 2009
    bobaran