Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Some questions while poking around in controllers, models, and forms...

ddumontddumont ✭✭
edited March 2011 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8
I see the rest style passing of parameters to the controllers and how that gets handled with the arguments to the particular controller method, but what about posting large amounts of data? or multi-part mime?

How can I read in data that's been posted that way, or by url args? file parts from a mime post?

There was an error rendering this rich post.

Comments

• Options
    judgejjudgej
    edited March 2011
    There are plugins that handle instances of all these types of things, with code you can look at. I am no expert myself, but the basic gist is to create a form object and let that handle it all. Most plugins manage to do that in a few lines of code, plus a view to format the form.

In orther words: it works by magic ;-) I do all those things you describe, but I have never had to explore the details of how it actually works.

A good place to start is here, though this is by means comprehensive:

http://www.vanillaforums.org/docs/models
  • Options
    Well I need to explore how it works :)
    My goal is to not have a visual form but to create a back-end service for another application.

I'm about half way deep into forms now... I might create a model to see what kinds of things it will magically handle for me w.r.t. sql inserts. The documentation says models represent tables... I need to know if it's a 1:1 relationship, or if I can have a model that spans tables... and how that all works... :)

• Options
    Though... starting to dig around it seems the form model might not be what I want to use for something like a rest service that doesn't have any notion of a visual display

• Options