I have used many forum programs and I must say, while Vanilla has some great features it also has one major flaw that I can see.
When deleting users, one of the main reasons to do so is to remove it from the database, which also cuts down on the size of the database.
Vanilla, it seems, does not do this. Instead, it deletes it from the site, yet leaves it in the database, after re-naming it to [Deleted User] which can cause a couple issues.
- Still in the database, taking up space.
- Still in the database, conflicting when doing certain things, like converting to another program. (Test purposes)
- Still in the database, making it hard to prune the database, without lagging server.
Vanilla needs to start doing what other programs do. Delete the user from the database completely when the user is deleted.