Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

[Solved] Embedded Forum has lost itself- how to reset??

vbjessvbjess New
edited October 2013 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

I'm trying to embed my forum (currently in a subfolder on my server) into my Wordpress site (target URL: www.azfibro.com/discussions).

I've got the embed code copied over into the Wordpress VF plugin, and I think I have all the appropriate target links entered in the admin Dashboard on both VF and Wordpress. The problem is that I'm getting an error message now when I try to navigate to the target URL ("BONK" message). I'm still pretty new to both Wordpress and Vanilla forums, so that could be the whole problem.

I'm also having problems adding the askimet plugin, but that's another discussion thread.. one problem at a time.

Ideas?

Jess

Comments

• Options
    vrijvlindervrijvlinder Papillon-Sauvage MVP

Hi, Can you specify the Vanilla version you are using ?

Is the stand alone forum reachable?

Do you have a Link to the site?

Please follow these steps to get behind the Bonk

http://vanillawiki.homebrewforums.net/index.php/Bonk_Errors

• Options

I'm using version 2.0.18.4.

No, it doesn't seem to be reachable. I'm thinking that's part of the problem. Wordpress is now telling me that it can't validate the original URL (www.azfibro.com/forum2). I'm looking at the files in my file manager on bluehost, so I know they do actually exist.

Working on the debugging now...

• Options
    edited October 2013

Please upgrade to Version 2.0.18.8 for some fixes.
    I suspect a missing Smarty folder and possibly other stuff. before you go any further since it is a new install, please download the newer version.

http://vanillaforums.org/addon/vanilla-core-2.0.18.8

• Options

I'm not seeing any error messages showing up.