Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Why don't the checkboxes work?

I've been dealing with this frustration for awhile, but I'm not a web developer. I'm trying to do this on my own to save a little money. So here is my question, and I really hope someone can explain it to me:

When trying to delete applicants, I use the checkboxes to select all (like I would in an email account), and then I hit decline all. This used to work for me, but now it doesn't. I have put anti-spam into place so getting new spam applicants isn't the worry. But I do have over 5,000 applicants from before the anti-spam.

I have searched all over these forums and found a few answers, but none help. Before you suggest it, I have edited the applicants.php like I was shown, I've tried using cleanser, but I don't know how to get into the database and directly delete applicants like it suggests. And the batch-edit app works great, but it only lets you edit current users, not applicants.

So I am in a bind and I just can't figure this out. Is there anyone who can explain to me why this is happening in non-technical speak and possibly suggest a fix? I am using Vanilla Forum Version 2.0.18.8

Thanks

Comments

• hgtonighthgtonight ∞ · New Moderator
    edited November 2013

Welcome to the community!

If you don't get a pop up when clicking the decline button, you need to debug your JS.

Assuming you are running FireFox:

1. Navigate to your applicants page
    2. Open your developer tools console tab (Ctrl + Shift + K)
    3. Report any errors you see

If you don't see any errors in the console:

1. Click on the action column heading
    2. Open your developer tools network tab (Ctrl + Shift + Q)
    3. Click on the decline button
    4. Post the details of any request made

Search first