Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Creating new user account with PHP and JSConnect (after successful PayPal payment)

MBMBMBMBMBMB New
edited November 2013 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Hello all,

I'm developing a website based on a customized membership system. New users have to pay a membership fee via PayPal. When a payment is done, PayPal sends an IPN (Instant Payment Notification) to a PHP script on my server (paypal.php). Of course no webpage is showing: paypal.php only sends a confirmation email to the new member. All of this is currently working.

Now I'd like paypal.php to create a new user account (with some previously generated password) in Vanilla forums, after email is sent. The problem is I'm a big newbie with Vanilla and JSONP.

I've installed Vanilla in a subfolder and enabled JSConnect. I've also installed Vanilla jsConnect Client Library for PHP (functions.jsconnect.php) in the same subfolder as paypal.php. I also added the index.php script that is provided for testing, filling it with correct $clientID and $secret.
Then, back to Vanilla JSConnect settings, I created a connection to this index.php script. The test link in JSConnect settings correctly returns:

test({"email":"john.php@anonymous.com","name":"John PHP","photourl":"","uniqueid":"123","client_id":"MySite","signature":"27202f4981e2964dd9ce2b266c279e36"})

The problem is I don't know what to do now. How can I tweak the index.php script in order to make it create a new Vanilla account for "John PHP" using a password of my own?…
Another question is: paypal.php is not intended to show any webpage. Can Vanilla user creation be achieved in such a "silent mode"?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here is what index.php currently looks like:

===========