Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Upgrading an Older Version of Vanilla

Hello everyone, I've been using Vanilla for a few months now, and have been a bit slack on upgrades. Mostly due to the fear that I'll screw something up, and lose everything.

I'm not the most technically competent person, and am a touch confused about the upgrade process.

Is there a go-to person who does work for hire for such things as upgrades?

If no, I'll have a crack at the update myself. I couldn't find a thread on duplicating a forum to a different domain for testing, is there one on the subject?

Thanks!

Whistler

Comments

• Options
    hgtonighthgtonight ∞ · New Moderator

Hallo!

What version of Vanilla are you currently running?

Upgrades are generally painless as long as you haven't modified the core and follow the upgrade instructions (including the back up step!).

https://github.com/vanilla/vanilla/blob/master/README.md#upgrading

If you still don't feel comfortable doing it, PM me and I can assist you as a freelancer.

Search first

Check out the Documentation! We are always looking for new content and pull requests.

Click on insightful, awesome, and funny reactions to thank community volunteers for their valuable posts.

• Options

I really did try to find this in the Dashboard... But where does it say the version?

• Options

The version should be in the lower right hand corner of your dashboard; in the footer.

Search first

Check out the Documentation! We are always looking for new content and pull requests.

Click on insightful, awesome, and funny reactions to thank community volunteers for their valuable posts.

• Options

shot

Missing. Might be due to some custom modifications I had done. Is that the sort of core modification that could make things less painless?