Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

A People Bookmark System

edited January 2007 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
I have tried to create this ext myself but I am still learning how all the vanilla stuff works together so it ended up being a mess. So calling smarter better, programmers than I... We need a "friends" ext. This extension would add a little tag to everyones comments (like the edit, quote, ect) that says something like "add friend" this would essentially bookmark that person to a list of your "friends" on your "account" page. So your account page would have a friends list that was a list of usernames (of users you selected) that each link to the participated discussions for that user. So for instance, if I though Jazzman made good comments, I could add him as a friend. Then later I could go through my list of friends and find Jazzman in the list and click on it to keep up with his latest postings. I think this extension would help create an increased sense of community in a forum. This would especially be useful for forums with a large number of users where newer users might feel lost in the crowd. Any takers?

Comments

• Great idea skuban maybe also an option to make this a tab as it can get pretty congested on the Account page.
  • Or perhaps as a panel option on the account page.
  • You guys are just filled with good ideas. If someone is willing to make this extension, I would like to use it. :) Unfortunately, I can only read and modify PHP code... I can't program it. Bookmarked!

~Achi
  • edited December 2006
    Something like this mockup

Friends List extension for Vanilla Forum