Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Issues with Title Tags in vanilla forum h1 & h2

edited January 2012 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

I am new to vanilla forum and studying the code to customize this awesome piece of script. From the experience that I have from wordpress development, I have following concerns with the present title structure of vanilla forum (I might be wrong in interpreting the structure of a forum software)

There should be at least one h1 tag on a page which is mostly the title of post on a dynamic website. So here are my observations about the current tile structure of vanilla forum

General Observations:
Every page of vanilla forum (default vanilla theme) has h1 tag assigned to the logo, which is completely wrong. Since h1 tag is the most important tag of a page, it should be unique and assigned to the heading of page.

All the headings (category, thread …) in vanilla forum script have no heading tag assigned to them and the other non-useful sidebar headings have been wrapped in h3 & h4 heading tags. I can’t digest this particularly.

Categories Page (List of all categories):

On the categories page, all the category headings have no tag assigned to them which is a potential loss in terms of SEO. Since there are more than one category linked on a single page, all category headings should be assigned to h2 tag (because there can’t be more than one h1 tag on a page.)

The other headings on the page, based on their importance, can then be assigned h3 and h4 tags etc.

Single Post Page:

On the single post page e.g thread page, the title of the thread should have been wrapped in h1 but it doesn’t even wrapped in any heading tag right now.