HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

What kind of themes does this community desire?

edited August 2012 in General Banter

I'm a designer and i specialize in forum designs. Vanilla is different from other traditional forum apps so i was wondering what kind of themes does this community desire? Simple or heavy? grunge or modern?

Tagged:

Comments

• whu606whu606 I'm not a SuperHero; I just like wearing tights... MVP

@pixelmonkey

As many different themes as there are users, I'd guess.

Are you talking about making themes to sell or to share?

Maybe take a look at some of the most downloaded themes, then put up one of your own.

• to sell.
    It's nice idea to look for most downloaded theme.

I might also come up with a free theme or two....let's see

• 422422 Developer MVP

As a theme seller, a bit of advice. Users like sliders, image sliders predominantly.

There was an error rendering this rich post.

As a theme seller, a bit of advice. Users like sliders, image sliders predominantly.

Thanks for the advice mate :D

• alovelyaialovelyai New
    edited September 2012

I have looked at a couple of premium theme websites and have installed all, if not most of the free themes available here and I feel like it's seriously lacking. I want a clean, modern, high-quality theme and I have yet to find one that fits the bill.

Some come close, and are very beautiful, but there is always something less attractive or glitchy. One main problem I have noticed with quite a few themes, is text overflowing on top of or under other elements. I really like the Enigma themes (they have great potential with some polishing here and there) and i would use them in a second, if the buttons on the menu bar at the top didn't run off under the search box. I don't know how to fix these issues and I shouldn't have to. I would love a theme that just works and looks good!