Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Product Support Options?

XarcellXarcell North Carolina

I use Blogger and I don't plan on changing that anytime soon. I'm also a new author at evanto, and want to provide some type of support for my buyers. Does Vanilla have any way of doing this? I looked through the add-ons and didn't see anything I could use for buyer verification support, or password protected forums, or anything I could use.

Anyone have any ideas on how I can accomplish this with Vanilla?

Thanks.

Tagged:

Comments

• AdrianAdrian Wandering Spirit Montreal MVP
    edited July 2013

@Xarcell You might have not looked hard enough ;p

You can set the forum closed and you can hand out memberships or let people buy support via a permission upgrade using:

http://vanillaforums.org/addon/purchasepremiumroles-plugin
    http://vanillaforums.org/addon/privatecommunity-plugin

Cheers

• XarcellXarcell North Carolina

I don't want to charge for support, only offer free support for those who buy my products via evanto(themeforest). I'm just trying to set up with a way for user's to verify themselves as a buyer, so I can give them support. I'm also not waiting to hide the whole forum, just parts of it. Those addons you suggested do not accept any kind of promo codes(that I can package with my products), so that they can be used to get premiumroles.

Of course I could do everything manually, but I'm looking to stream-line my workflow.

• hgtonighthgtonight ∞ · New Moderator

I would suggest putting your forum into 'Invite Only' mode and send an invite code with your products.

That would prevent non-customers from even accessing the site.

Of course, if you require an account to buy something, it might make sense to go with an SSO approach using jsConnect.

Search first