HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Which files should I back up

misifimisifi New
edited October 2013 in Tutorials

I am new to Vanilla and have started a forum which is basically taking over from one that has died. I have set it up and the people have registered and it is about to go live. I want to create a backup regime, the mysql database is backed up by the virtual hosting company, my question is which files should I backup on a regular basis?

Thank you

Comments

• 422422 Developer MVP

all dynamic content is derived from your database. So regular backups of this should suffice

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• Any code modifications you personally made to your forum.
    And the config.php is a good idea to make periodic backups, unless you want to reconfigure all dashboard setup.

One person on this site had to pay his server provider for a restoration of the sql files (database_ for a database that was 5 days old, so a regular periodic export of your database by you can save you some bucks if your provider charges for restoration.

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.

• Thanks peregrine.

• LincLinc Detroit Admin
    edited August 2012

Backup your conf/config.php file periodically as @peregrine suggests.

I suggest GitHub for tracking any modifications or personal plugins.

• hbfhbf wiki guy? MVP

The Uploads directory contains custom/dynamic data that should be backed up as well, otherwise a restored forum will look a little funky with all of the user uploads and pics missing..

• bump. in case it helps anybody.

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.

• this also could be moved to tutorials @underdog