HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Thoughts about separation of discussions and comments

R_JR_J Ex-FanboyMunich Admin

/!\ Warning! Do not read this if you think that there is a hidden question inside of this posting or something like this. Sometimes I have to write my thoughts down to get them clear and that has been the case here...

I've not understood why there is this separation in Vanilla between discussions and comments. There is no need to make a difference between the first posting in the thread and all the others. So it was a design decision and it is one of the very few "features" of Vanilla that I dislike.
I'm no database expert, but I'd assume that this decision is bad for Vanillas perfomance, but that's just a feeling and I wouldn't even know how to proof that.

Well, that's just the preface and this shall be no complaint.

Somebody has asked about a "related-plugin" and I was thinking about how something like this could be achieved. My first thought was that searching only in the discussion and not in the comments would be senseless and so I would have to search in two tables which would make a ranking even harder. So you would have to build a keyword table which handles discussions and comments just the same.

I wasn't sure if I had talked about something like that in a discussion before and so I thought I'd go over the profile and browse my postings. Well, I could only browse my discussions or my comments. There again...