Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

A few questions regarding custom themeing and custom pages*

lowielowie New
edited November 2013 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Hi guys,

I'm new to vanilla forums (but a php dev for quite a while) and I'm creating a custom theme for a client of mine (I'm using 2.0.18.4). I have a few questions, and I apologise in advance if they are answered elsewhere in the forum. I'm not 100% sure what to ask or whether what I'm finding is the best answers.

1. I want users to be able to upload a profile picture/avatar during the signup process. The default registration doesn't have a field to upload an image (unless I'm missing something). Is this a config option or do I need to install a plugin to enable this? If it's a plugin, which plugin is best?

2. I want to implement a custom homepage (not the discussions page). The html for the page I'll be implementing is up at http://uicoding.com/staging/arthritis-forum/index.html. First thing, how do I create a new page? Ideally the manual method for this would be appreciated. I'm assuming create a route, create a controller and then create the views... but if there's a quicker way I'd love to hear it. I've seen that there are a couple of plugins that can create pages but I wasn't sure if they'd give me the flexibility to completely customise what appears on the page.

3. This question is something I'm sure I can search for so it's only out of interest. On the homepage I have top picks, latest, hot topics, most viewed etc. Would you use plugins for these and then customise how they look, or would you recommend that I build the logic for them myself (assuming I have my own controller for the hompage)?

Any help would be much appreciated and would kickstart me in the right direction :).

Cheers,
Chris

Comments