Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Making a custom error if a condition is met before submitting a thread?

Hi!
I am totally new to Vanilla Forums and im moving from MyBB. I want to make a plugin (Which I have half done in MyBB) which allows you to set a bounty for your question which gets taken out your wallet (which is something else il be developing for it). What I need to do is, make sure the user has enough credits to set a bounty. So before the thread is submitted, I need to do a check to see if the user has enough credits to set that much bounty, if so, continue. If not, send the user back and tell them to set a lower bounty.

Im capible of doing all of that in PHP, I just need to know what I would need to do to stop a thread from being submitted.
Any ideas on what hook id need to use and how id stop the thread submission?

Comments

• Options
    hgtonighthgtonight ∞ · New Moderator

Welcome to the community!

You need to hook into the discussion model and run your validation code before discussion save.

Something like this will get you started:

public function DiscussionModel_BeforeSaveDiscussion_Handler($Sender) {
      // Validation code here

// If validation fails, die with an error message
      die('Error message here');
    }

Search first

Check out the Documentation! We are always looking for new content and pull requests.

Click on insightful, awesome, and funny reactions to thank community volunteers for their valuable posts.

• Options
    R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin