Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Fatal Error: "You have an error in your SQL syntax"

ispjstfuispjstfu New
edited April 2014 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Hi,

I'm new to Vanilla and new to this forum, but I would love to get some help with an error I'm getting...

I installed Vanilla locally to try it out for the first time, after some initial kinks with my Mac not transferring the .htaccess file, it all worked, I realized I liked it, and decided to use it on a website I'm building.

So... I made a fresh install at a subdomain, exported the forum with the categories I had created on my local install, and imported it into the live site, and it all seemed to work, except for the fact that I want my forum to be private, and not visible at all to guests, so I went in to the Roles & Permissions settings, and as soon as I try to edit or add a user role, I get this error:

Fatal Error in Gdn_Database.Query();

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near ' p.Name as `Name` from GDN_c c left join GDN_p p on c. = p.ID' at line 1
select distinct p.ID as `ID`, c., p.Name as `Name`
from GDN_c c
left join GDN_p p on c. = p.ID
The error occurred on or near: /storage/content/73/117673/forum.thegothenburgcrew.se/public_html/library/database/class.database.php
283:          $PDOStatement = $this->Connection()->query($Sql);
284:       }
285: 
286:       if ($PDOStatement === FALSE) {
287:          trigger_error(ErrorMessage($this->GetPDOErrorMessage($this->Connection()->errorInfo()), $this->ClassName, 'Query', $Sql), E_USER_ERROR);
288:       }
289:       
290:       // Did this query modify data in any way?
291:       if ($ReturnType == 'ID') {
Backtrace: