Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Integrating own authentication mechanism into Vanilla

Dear all,

Though I am aware that this question has been posted before in various incarnations, I do not feel that it has been answered in a way that I now know what is possible and what is not. First off, I am an experienced PHP developer, so I am not hesitant to write additional code or specific addons to reach my goal.

What I have set up now is a Vanilla forum installation (non-embedded), that uses jsConnect to automatically sign in users that have previously signed in to the website that has the user account database. So this now works in my setup:

[website] -> {user signs in} -> {user visits forum} -> [forum uses jsConnect] -> {user is automatically signed into Vanilla forum}

No real problems there, as jsConnect is well documented.

The next step is to have users use the same username and password that they have on the [website] to sign into the forum directly. So in this step, the user does not first visit [website], but uses his/her credentials to sign in on [forum]. Something like this:

[forum] -> {user clicks sign in} -> {user enters credentials} -> {forum does background authentication@website} -> {user is authenticated@forum}

There are two ways to approach this, I guess.

1. Have the forum load the oAuth popup from [website] to login, instead of its own popup.
  2. Have the forum do a background authentication, after the user has entered his credentials in the [forum] popup.

I assume that the second option is the easiest to implement, as it has no effect on the user interaction (front-end) of Vanilla.

Now, my actual questions:

1. Is there a standard way to achieve the described goal?