Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Spammers, all of a sudden?

I've been using vanilla forums, for about 5 months now, and I haven't had any problems with spammers, till about 2 weeks ago. All of a sudden they popped up, and every couple days, they'll just spam like crazy, and take over the "recent discussion" page.

Has anyone else had this problem? And how would I stop it?

Comments

• LincLinc Detroit Admin

Use the Akismet & Stop Forum Spam addons, and lower the thresholds for the latter in its settings. If some still get thru, try the Approval registration method.

• Hi, same problem here.
    They register with a yahoo/hotmail address and with a username like LETTERnickname : Gjordan, Lnicky...
    Even with the Security Check at the registration.

• peregrineperegrine MVP
    edited May 2014

In addition to what linc said....

try the Approval registration method.

and check the reason for joining to stop suspicious applicants.

in vanilla 2.1 you can also use captcha and approval.

or
    http://vanillaforums.org/addon/botstopapproval-plugin

or
    http://vanillaforums.org/addon/botstopapproval

to filter and delete Applicants use this plugin

http://vanillaforums.org/addon/cleanser-plugin or the BulkEditor plugin

to filter and restrict login attempts, use the

http://vanillaforums.org/addon/registrationrestrictlogger-plugin

to filter capabilities of an applicant

remove permission in that role for viewing activity and profile.

http://vanillaforums.org/discussion/24785/poll-which-registration-method-and-plugins-do-you-use-to-deter-spammers-and-their-efficacy

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.

• LincLinc Detroit Admin
    edited May 2014