Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Updating jQuery 1.6.2 > 1.7.2 - Seeking help!

phreakphreak Vanilla*APP (White Label) & Vanilla*Skins Shop MVP
edited June 2014 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Hi everybody,

I run an instance of Vanilla 2.0.18.11 (and that has a reason, upgrading for 2.1 is underwork).

I want to add a jQuery mobile menu to the site that needs jQuery 1.7.2. And for sure using it breaks some functions of Vanilla and some plugins. My Javascript knowledge is limited and i have no clue what to make to get the broken functions running. I'm a designer and should stay. ;)

Mobile Menu Script - http://mmenu.frebsite.nl/

-
I tried loading both, the core 1.6.2 and with an additional line in the head 1.7.2:
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.7.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
This gets the best results, although some functions are still broken and of course it's not recommendable to load to jQuery packages.

-
Then i tried versions jumps to figure out which version will be most compatible between my fresh mobile menu and the used functions and plugins of Vanilla. I stupidly added the version numbers. Hihi. ;)
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.6.3/jquery.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.6.4/jquery.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.6.5/jquery.min.js"></script>

Well not very smart either.

-