Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Images are rotated when resized

AaronWebsteyAaronWebstey Headband AfficionadoCole Harbour, NS ✭✭✭

Hi,
I'm using the wonderful ImageUpload on 2.1.6, and some images are getting turned sideways or upside-down after uploading. I've been sorting through the plugin and core image upload code, and nothing is popping out at me (I am a PHP developer but pretty new to VF in particular). Is this just the flakiness of exif tags on different camera devices, or have you seen/heard of this before?

Tagged:

Comments

• It's the way people upload images.

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.

• AaronWebsteyAaronWebstey Headband Afficionado Cole Harbour, NS ✭✭✭

Thanks @peregrine‌. Not sure exactly what you mean, but at least I can stop looking in the code for answers. If you can elaborate I'll appreciate it; otherwise I still appreciate it and I'll just see if I can reproduce the problem using my own uploads and tell my users what not to do.

• peregrineperegrine MVP
    edited December 2014

this should give you some insights and a possible solution.

http://vanillaforums.org/discussion/24908/image-upload-orientation-changer

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.

Thanks again. I did briefly read that before, but should have looked more closely. I've asked a user to send me an original copy, so that I can let him know that his original image was not right. I'm hoping I won't have to implement the rotator, but as the forum is getting popular pretty quickly I probably will.