Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Possible to add likes to notifications?

I'm using Vanilla version 2.1.1.

I'm a bit new to vanilla, so forgive me if this is a silly question -- is there a way for users to be notified via notifications when another user likes their post or comment?

I've attached a screenshot of a notification about another user posting on my wall, as an example of exactly what I'd like to happen if a user likes another users post or comment (e.g. "Taggy likes a comment you made.")

I know that users can choose their notification preferences, I'd like this to be an option they can select for email or popup.

Comments

• No, unfortunately this would require custom code and I don't know of a Like plugin that supports that.

• vrijvlindervrijvlinder Papillon-Sauvage MVP

I think adding these kind of capabilities would defeat the purpose of getting people to participate. If you get notified of everything, then what is the point of visiting and participating on site.

If you use Yaga application instead of like this to tally who and when and get notified, it might work better. Yaga is an an application and you can make plugins for it so it is extendable. Already has a notification system if I am not mistaken... But it is only about reactions which amount to like or not whatever you create or want to call them.

I can see the value of knowing someone liked/reacted to your post. Which is why the post gets marked with the reactions . But getting an email or notification every time might be overkill. I would rather know if there was a comment made or a new post made.

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

@demifugue said:
    I'm using Vanilla version 2.1.1.