Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Language Variables

ThemeSteamThemeSteam I love VanillaForums

HI,
I'm a theme developer and need to create multi language themes, is there a way to use a language variable instead of static words? I want dynamic codes. for example {Lang_Discussions}

Thanks

Comments

• KasperKasper Scholar of the Bits Copenhagen Vanilla Staff

You can use {t c="Foo"} in Smarty to utilize Vanilla's localization functionality. More info can be found here: http://docs.vanillaforums.com/theming/smarty/i18n/

Kasper Kronborg Isager (kasperisager) | Freelance Developer @Vanilla | Hit me up: Google Mail or Vanilla Mail | Find me on GitHub

• ThemeSteamThemeSteam I love VanillaForums

Thanks Kasper,
    Can you explain more? Where can I find all {t} strings? i am interested using the default ones.

No problem! All default locale strings can be found on Transifex (account required): https://www.transifex.com/projects/p/vanilla/language/en/

Kasper Kronborg Isager (kasperisager) | Freelance Developer @Vanilla | Hit me up: Google Mail or Vanilla Mail | Find me on GitHub

edited February 2015

Thanks Again Master,

for example :
    $Definition['xctivity'] = 'Xctivity';
    {t c="xctivity"}
    Is that correct?

Also can i add custom strings?
    themefolder/locale/en-CA.php

Sorry if I ask too much ... Your information can open a door.
    Sincerely

• hgtonighthgtonight ∞ · New Moderator

@ThemeSteam said:
    Thanks Again Master,

for example :
    $Definition['xctivity'] = 'Xctivity';
    {t c="xctivity"}
    Is that correct?

Also can i add custom strings?
    themefolder/locale/en-CA.php

Sorry if I ask too much ... Your information can open a door.
    Sincerely

You should be able to add locale definitions via your theme.

Search first