Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Handling BeforeEmbedDiscussion event

I am new to Vanilla and can't seem to figure out how to handle the BeforeEmbedDiscussion event. This is called when you first post to a discussion that doesn't exist via embedded comments.

The event is fired like this in PostController::Comment:

$this->EventArguments['Discussion'] = $EmbeddedDiscussionData;
 $this->FireEvent('BeforeEmbedDiscussion');
 $DiscussionID = $this->DiscussionModel->SQL->Insert(
        'Discussion',
        $EmbeddedDiscussionData
 );

My question is, how to I change the data that is attached to the event? I want to update the text in the Body of $EmbeddedDiscussionData

Here is my method:

public function PostController_BeforeEmbedDiscussion_Handler($sender)
{
    $discussion = $sender->EventArguments['Discussion'];
    $body = $discussion['Body'];
    $attributes = unserialize($discussion['Attributes']);
    $productUrl = $attributes['ForeignUrl'];

$newBody = str_replace('Read the full story here.', $productUrl, $body);
    $discussion['Body'] = $newBody;
    $sender->Discussion = $discussion;
}

Am I even close? The documentation is quite sparse for examples on this :\

Tagged:

Comments

• hgtonighthgtonight ∞ · New Moderator

You found a potential bug.

Generally event arguments are assigned by reference if the intent is to potentially change the data in the event handler. This does not appear to be the case here. This may have been intentional.

Changing line 444 of class.postcontroller.php to $this->EventArguments['Discussion'] =& $EmbeddedDiscussionData; would solve your issue.

Search first

Check out the Documentation! We are always looking for new content and pull requests.