HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Why is there so much markup in php files?

I'm new to Vanilla and I'm working on a pretty drastic visual departure for a theme. In the process I find myself having to edit a few files that have php and logic in them. Mainly the helper.php files. This worries me regarding upgrades later. I'm curious why vanilla doesn't have more template files where the majority of the markup lives. I feel like this would make upgrades more feasible without the possibility of breaking as new features are added. IMO it would also allow for much easier themeing.

Comments

• BleistivtBleistivt Moderator
    edited September 2015

Because it is discouraged to edit core files. Even copying the views to your theme - try not to do it. There is almost always a way to do what you want by just editing the master view, editing the stylesheet or by using theme hooks.

What are you trying to do exactly? Maybe we can help you.

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

By now I think the usage of Smarty in Vanilla is a bad joke. It is used for the main template, but not for the themes. If you decide to use a template language you should use it consequently and the views directories should only contain Smarty tpl files. To my opinion, all view files should be converted to Smarty templates for the main Vanilla theme in order to stay consistent.

• edited September 2015

@Bleistivt

While the design has changed a touch since this prototype was last touched, you can get an idea of the forum skin I'm trying to build. This was built before I realized we were going to use Vanilla.

This is a pretty heavy fully responsive modification and I don't know how easy this would be to accomplish using only CSS and the master view template.