HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Tentative steps towards going with VPS - any advice welcome (and very much needed...)

whu606whu606 I'm not a SuperHero; I just like wearing tights... MVP

My background

I'm a Windows user, and a former head of IT in a secondary school, as well as a Cisco certified technician, so I'm generally computer savvy. I've had my Vanilla forum for around 4 years now.

I recently installed Lubuntu on an old laptop, so have a vague familiarity with things Linux.

I'm comfortable using SSH access on my server.

My situation

I've been hosting with Bluehost for about 10 years, but they've cheesed me off big time, so it's time for a change.

What I'm thinking of doing

I figure since I'm making the change anyway, it's time to move away from managed servers.

I'm pretty sure I'll go with Digital Ocean for now, and am looking at the 1gb RAM option.

According to AWstats, my site gets around 8,000 unique hits a month, around 25,000 visits, and 1.5 - 2m hits a month (with Cloudflare enabled; prior to that it was nearly double) using 6-8 Gb of bandwidth.

As far as I can tell the 1Gb spec would be up to dealing with that range.

Where I'd like advice

I guess I'll go with Ubuntu 14.

As a very inexperienced Linux hat, does anyone have a strong feeling about whether I should go Nginx or Apache for the webserver?

My main angst is managing my current email addresses. Some Googling suggests that mail-in-a-box would do what I need (for free, which is not an insignificant factor...)

Anyone know a reason not to, or an alternative they are happy with?

Digital Ocean look to have a screed of decent tutorials, and there is lots of stuff on the Interwebby as well, so I don't need a walk through, but if there are experienced users out there who would care to share any of the 'things I wish I'd known' I'd be very grateful.

Thanks.

Tagged:

Comments