Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Is Cleaning Up Orphaned Uploaded Files Necessary?

With the 'Advanced Editor' it's quite easy for users to upload images and files to their hearts' content. But I've found that even after a short time after setting the forum up, my handful of users have already uploaded several files that are not being used anywhere. It seems they sometimes upload the wrong image/file, and once they see it in their post, they realise they don't need it, and delete it. But deleting it from the post doesn't actually delete the file from the server - it's still there, in the 'editor' sub-directory...

As I'm new to Vanilla, I'm not sure whether this is something I should be concerned about. Do I need to do anything to clean up these old uploaded, orphaned files, that are not being used anywhere? Is there a task that Vanilla automatically runs periodically in the background that already does this? Do I need to install a plugin?

Any guidance would be appreciated!

Comments

• phreakphreak Vanilla*APP (White Label) & Vanilla*Skins Shop MVP

Not of the same nature but also important to this matter: The current Advanced Editor as well as the FileUpload do not resize the uploded file or compress them again. Therefore i run a script to resize and recompress files on the server continously.

That helps regarding lage speed and user site speed a lot.

A CleanUp Method against the database would be great.

• VanillaAPP | iOS & Android App for Vanilla - White label app for Vanilla Forums OS
    • VanillaSkins | Plugins, Themes, Graphics and Custom Development for Vanilla
  • LincLinc Detroit Admin

@luxlogica said:
    Any guidance would be appreciated!

For what it's worth, neither Vanilla nor I personally make any effort to clean them up currently.