HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

How Do I Edit Vanilla's HTML Completely?

I am new to Vanilla and have looked at making small html/css modifications through the editor, but what I am trying to do is change the "New Discussion" template to have more fields than just the category, discussion title, ,tags, and description. I want to include some drop downs and more text boxes. Is that possible with Vanilla Open Source?

Comments

• hgtonighthgtonight ∞ · New Moderator

Welcome to the community!

Check out the addon Discussion Extender: https://vanillaforums.org/addon/discussionextender-plugin

Search first

Check out the Documentation! We are always looking for new content and pull requests.

Click on insightful, awesome, and funny reactions to thank community volunteers for their valuable posts.

• Thanks a ton! That will be very useful. I'm also a developer, so I am wondering how I can edit and make my own plugins, or what files I can edit to add new features of my own. I looked through the files and I couldn't really find anything that resembled html. I've heard that it's all php and no actual html, so where would that php segment be that you edit? Looking forward to working with the Vanilla open source.

• hgtonighthgtonight ∞ · New Moderator

Vanilla uses an MVC framework with a pluggable event system. Plugins can hook into any event fired off and execute its code, including spitting out HTML. The default applications fire events at pretty much every "interesting" point already.

Vanilla uses both Smarty templates and PHP files for it's views. The Smarty templates are almost exclusively used for master views rather than component views.

Back when I was getting started, the single most useful development tool was a plugin called Eventi: https://vanillaforums.org/addon/eventi-plugin