Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

File failed to upload

Hey folks. I am new to Vanilla forum and I truly like it. However there is one thing that I am struggling with already second day today.
I can't upload any attachment to a discussion.

Interesting enough I can't do it here on official forum either. It keeps saying: "File failed to upload."

I have checked permissions for the user, I have upload permissions on my forum. I have also checked php.ini and file upload is enabled (which is also proven by the fact that I was able to upload my profile picture). I don't know what else to try as I can't get any more specific message out of it.

Now when I saw that I can't upload the file in here, I was thinking the issue may have been on the client side, but I had my friend trying to upload an attachment and it hasn't been working for him either.

Any idea? It's driving me crazy.

Thanks a lot.

Comments

• RiverRiver MVP
    edited August 2016

@zatokar said:
    Interesting enough I can't do it here on official forum either. It keeps saying: "File failed to upload."\

if you can't upload an attachment here. It can be one of three+ reasons.

without you providing specific information on size, type of attachment, etc, it is impossible to guess beyond that.

Pragmatism is all I have to offer. Avoiding the sidelines and providing centerline pro-tips.

• @River said:

@zatokar said:
    Interesting enough I can't do it here on official forum either. It keeps saying: "File failed to upload."\

if you can't upload an attachment here. It can be one of three reasons.

• the format type is not allowed
    • the file is too big
    • your connection is too slow and times out.