Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Call to undefined function helpAsset() while trying to configure jsconnect

edited July 2017 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to Vanilla forums software and I wanted to give it a try so I downloaded the latest 2.3.1 version and got it up and running. No issues. I also uploaded a theme and that worked like a charm.

I then proceeded to install jsconnect. Seamless transition between my app and forums is important. I ran into multiple issue.

First I got a "PHP Fatal error: " red bar in the plugin section when I try to enable the plugin. No error message on the UI. Network shows HTTP 500. I looked into the logs and saw this.

PHP Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '*', expecting ',' or ';' in /home/admin/vanilla-core-2-3-1/plugins/jsconnect/class.jsconnect.plugin.php on line 29

That line is const NONCE_EXPIRATION = 5 * 60; which really doesn't make sense. As the same code works on a windows environment PHP 7. I'm on Ubuntu 14.04 PHP above 5.6 in production though. So I changed that to const NONCE_EXPIRATION = 300; I was able to enable the plugin.

When I try to go to the settings I see this exception in the logs. In the UI I see a white page. But in the logs I see -

Call to undefined function helpAsset() in /home/admin/vanilla-core-2-3-1/plugins/jsconnect/views/settings.php on line 8,

I'm not very familiar with the framework but it seems like the plugin code above assumes the helpAsset() would be available during run time in some vanilla core libraries so it makse that call? Prior version would simply use echo to print those text out.