Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

How to modify the homepage to show a dynamic content?

Hi, I am a complete newbie here. I would like to know if there is a plugin or ways where I can customize my homepage to show certain discussion of certain categories. It is like HotNews, HotDiscussion etc. with the possibility to show images and text. An example I know is something like www.kaskus.co.id. Thanks

Best Answer

Answers

• rbrahmsonrbrahmson "You may say I'm a dreamer / But I'm not the only one" NY ✭✭✭

Hi @alaiksander, welcome to the community.
    @R_J is the best tutor if you have interest in coding (and if you've never done it you should try - it's fun). But if you are not inclined to do any coding do not despair - Vanilla is still a good place for you.

Let me address your question in two parts:
    You wrote

"customize my homepage to show certain discussion of certain categories. It is like HotNews, HotDiscussion etc."

For this I'd use the Announcement feature. It's the ability to mark specific discussions as "announcements" so that they will appear on top of the discussion list. There are two types of announcements - those that appear on top on the "main page" and those that only appear on top of the specific category they are listed under.

There are also other ways to highlight specific discussions:

• The Discussion Alert plugin can be used to mark a discussion with an eye grabber icon.
    • The Discussion Note plugin also shows an eye grabbing icon on specific discussions that have "post-it"-like notes added to them and can even show the note in the discussion list. You can set notes on specific discussions that deserve attention.

These two also work with the Announcement feature.

You also wanted another feature: