Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

newbie searching for an easy forum download

Hello!
I admit I am a newbie in web building..
I managed so far to put together most of a wordpress website ( still offline) and wanted to add a small forum page to the site. I started with a well known forum plugin for wordpress, and no matter how many youtube videos I watched and followed directions very closely , I couldn't get the login--password-register to work properly. I went to their website for help and ended up getting spam in my email box For my efforts --an advertisement for pills of some sort and no help from the forum community :-(
I reinstalled the plugin several times, still no go, so I scrapped it and tried a different forum software.
Afterwards I found out that the new software- unless I am a techie -it wasn't compatible with wordpress,--- waaay beyond my level of expertise. So I scrapped that one too. There was a plugin for vanilla, on the plugin site-- so I downloaded that one, and I was checking it over and it was I think 1.1.7or something like that, and had not been updated for I think it was 4 years..
I came to this website an it seems there are newer open sourced versions available...
So I am wondering if I can manage to install a newer version, and if it is reasonably easy for a "newbie"
to install and set up..
thanks for the advise..

Comments

• Options

Hey there! I don't post here often but saw this and figured to add a little input. I'm sure the gurus will post more advice.

If you want a great forum, you want to consider quality over ease in every case. Most hosts offer script install (many that I've dealt with including Cazaratech where I host my sites).