HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Blog or forum?

Hello,
I am really frustrated right now. I have an entertainment blog (www.clamorcity.com) but the blog is not lively and I get really lazy thinking about what to write every. I am a medical student and don't really have time for the blog. Can I create an entertainment forum?. I need a site where users can also contribute and help themselves. A site that can generate contents and be interactive even if I'm absent for some time. So, help Me...should I go for blog or forum?

Comments

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

If you want to share knowledge a blog is a good idea

If you want people to talk with each other and other people to create content, you should prefer a forum.

But a forum needs your attention, too. In the beginning it is unlikely that there will happen anything at all. You have to regularly create content, it would be even good if you could get others into the boat to help you with that. Maybe you have to fake users to make your forum look interesting (dirty work). Building a community is really hard.
    You can find some articles on that in the official Vanilla blog: https://blog.vanillaforums.com/

• whu606whu606 I'm not a SuperHero; I just like wearing tights... MVP

It isn't really clear why you want to start a forum at all. Are you thinking you will be able to generate income from it? That is much harder than you might think.

Forums are always all about content, and that is down to having a group of committed, enthusiastic users.

Given that there may well be a few entertainment forums already out there, what would make yours so special that people would join it and stay?

And frankly, if you aren't going to be on it, why would they need your forum anyway?