Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

MySQL error during install of Vanilla 2.6

I get this error when I hit continue button in the Version 2.6 Installer

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'Admin = ?' at line 4

MySQL version is 8.0.11.0

Comments

• LincLinc Detroit Admin
    edited June 2018

Disable MySQL's Strict Mode to proceed.

• Strict Mode is/was disabled, no success with Vanilla 2.6
    Vanilla 2.5.2 works on my server.

• Clean installation of Vanilla 2.6 on Windows/IIS, exact same problem. Strict Mode is disabled (sql-mode = "NO_ENGINE_SUBSTITUTION", is this OK?). MySQL version is 8.0. I also have Debug=true in my config.php; not sure if it matters at this point. Total noob here; any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

• I tried the Vanilla 2.5.2 Installer and I get the exact same error.

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'Admin = ?' at line 4

• I enabled debug and got this:
    ## C:\vanilla-core-2-6\library\database\class.database.php(421)
    #0 [internal function]: gdn_ErrorHandler(256, 'You have an err...', 'C:\vanilla-core...', 421, Array)
    #1 C:\vanilla-core-2-6\library\database\class.database.php(421): trigger_error('You have an err...', 256)
    #2 C:\vanilla-core-2-6\library\database\class.sqldriver.php(1684): Gdn_Database->query('select *\nfrom G...', Array, Array)
    #3 C:\vanilla-core-2-6\library\database\class.sqldriver.php(902): Gdn_SQLDriver->query('select *\nfrom G...')
    #4 C:\vanilla-core-2-6\applications\dashboard\settings\structure.php(138): Gdn_SQLDriver->getWhere('User', Array)