Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Cannot upload images with more than 4096px height

mikemetismikemetis New
edited September 2018 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

I am a hobby photographer and I am using Vanilla Forums to discuss photos with some friends. The problem is that we are not able to upload the original jpg photos we shot. They normally have dimensions of 6720 x 4480px. I did several tests and problems start with a height higher than 4096px.

It does not matter if uploaded via Advanced Editor or FileUpload-plugin.

It is not the file size. Because I was able to upload 20MB files but not a photo with 6MB but a height of 4480px.

Can someone please tell me how to fix this?

Comments

• without more details ....

could be you are running out of memory if there is any image conversion (thumbnails, resizing ,etc).

possibly increase php memory limits or disable any image conversion if it is memory issue.

ini_set('memory_limit', '64M') or higher

http://www.dotsamazing.com/en/labs/phpmemorylimit

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/27474629/out-of-memory-although-memory-limit-is-large-enough

depending imaging processing if gd you could test...

you could try zipping up jpgs - not for compression sake, but for file type and try uploading.

try the new editor that comes with 2.7

https://open.vanillaforums.com/discussion/36603/vanilla-2-7-will-be-along-shortly

Pragmatism is all I have to offer. Avoiding the sidelines and providing centerline pro-tips.

• Thank you @River, you helped me to solve it. Here is a short summary:

Zipping a photo and uploading it already worked before. Given that, I am quite sure it has to do with the thumbnail generation.

The memory_limit was at 128MB and I set it to 256MB after using the calculator you provided to me, stating 159MB are needed.