HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Stuck in the build process

I am new to vanilla.

I am trying to install this software and I wanted to create a new theme but I think I'm stuck in the build process.

This what I did based on the instructions I read on Vanilla CLI page:

Installing Vanilla

1. Download: "composer"

2. run in COMMAND LINE: composer global require 'vanilla/vanilla-cli

3. Download and install: Node.js

4. Download and install: yarn.

5. run in COMMAND LINE: yarn add @vanillaforums/theme-boilerplate

6. create your theme folder

7. cd <your theme>

8. run in COMMAND LINE: yarn run boilerplate-install my-custom-theme "My Custom Theme" 

9. run in COMMAND LINE: vanilla build (This is not working in my part because I can't see how to add/fix the vanillacli_vanilla_src_dir)

Can someone help me in fixing this last part?

Comments

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

Add the vanilla installation folder to the commandline like that: vanilla built --vanillasrc=...

You certainly have to replace the "..." with the absolute path you have installed your forum in

• charrondevcharrondev Developer Lead (PHP, JS) Montreal Vanilla Staff

Another alternative is to set a VANILLA_CLI_SRC_DIRECTORY as an environmental variable.

At this point I think the need for that variable is not necessary for the vanilla build command to function properly, although it is necessary for the rest of the CLI. Development of the tool was mostly frozen right now, as we've been starting work on a new base theme that builds with vanilla itself. That's taking longer than expected though, so I'll take a look this weekend and see if I can clean this up a bit. Ideally it would just come down along with theme-boilerplate .

• I installed it under xamp/htdocs/vanilla directory. Should I add the absolute path?

• I see.