HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Registering an Invited New Member

I'm a newbie trying to set up Version 3.3, and things are gong quite well, but I would like to restrict membership to people that I (Administer) invite. I am experimenting by inviting a fictitious person, using an alternative email address of my own. I receive the invitation on my mobile phone. I click the "Join" button, and the fictitious person is then asked for my username and password. Well, of course, the fictitious person does not yet have these, as there has not yet been an opportunity to Register.

Is this an error with the system, have I missed something, or do I need to pre-register the people I want to invite and notify them of their login details prior to inviting them?

Comments

• Don't know if this works in 3.3 but probably worth a try

https://open.vanillaforums.com/addon/bulkinvite-plugin

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

That's how the feature is expected to work. If you invite someone, you give that person the possibility to register, but that person doesn't need to if he/she is not interested.

You've answered your question already. If you want to make things as easy as possible, you need to create users manually. You can do so from the dashboards users tab.

• Thanks, ianw5555. I've installed and Enabled bulkinvite but I see no sign of it on any "Dashboard User menu". So perhaps it doesn't work with v 3.3

• Thanks R_J.

The problem is that the potential new member is not invited to Register when they open the forum site, only to Sign in. Of course they can't sign in because they have not yet registered.

As you say, I'll probably have to create them all manually. Shame though, if the Invitation Option is not functioning properly.

This is how it looks to me if I enable invitation registration and it works as expected