HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Unable to create Hyperlinks in Discussions.

I am new to Vanilla, and using v3.3.

I have installed the software and set up some Categories and Discussions.

However, I am finding that I am unable to add hyperlinks to a Discussion’s text. Initially I used the default system, which seemed to be to click the little cog symbol, and select “Edit”. I then selected the relevant text and was given a selection of editing options including the hyperlink symbol. Clicking on the symbol offered the option to add the URL. This having been done I Saved the result, but found that the hyperlink was not showing on the text, nor functioning.

I then tried Installing and Enabling first Advanced Editor and then Rich Editor. On both occasions I re-launched the Forum software, but found exactly the same lack of success, and I am unable to see any reference to either Addon editor on the Edit Discussion page.

Clearly I am missing something. Cold someone enlighten me please?

Comments

• what is your forum link?

• ianw5555ianw5555
    edited March 2020

If you highlight the text you wish to become the link, then options will come up but Just did it with come, put your url in and hit enter

• This is the link.

Well, there you have it! I have just selected "This is the link" and inserted the URL of my Forum in the box that appears (see image). So why has the phrase not become a Hyperlink? I don't understand? Maybe it will become a link when I post it. Let's see.

• No. It doesn't seem to have become a hyperlink. Ok. But this is happening on the vanillaforums.com forum. So the problem is not just about my forum. Could it be to do with my Browser?

• you have to press enter before it turns to a link

• KasparKaspar Moderator
  • My Test.