HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Where do i findout Current user data

I am new to vanilla but i have web developer . I have a task to display user photo , name , karma ,etc detail on home page...i do not know where i should go

Comments

• Options
    R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

If you have to ask where to find the username, you don't have a developer. Whatever that guy said that his qualification is, search for somebody with a different profile. That person most probably will not deliver.

But anyway, maybe I'm unfair and you maybe got the question wrong. Here are some information that should be obvious for a developer:

Vanilla uses an autowiring router

Configuration can be found the /conf/config.php file

Views are in /applications/whatever/views (as a reference only! If he starts changing files there, fire him immediately! )

All views can be overridden in a theme (no view should, though)

It would be best to clone a simple theme

Code will require a themehooks file. To "enhance" a view with "karma" info, you would write an event handler that injects data to the controller

Well, that's for a start. Tell him he should register an account here and ask his questions directly. He might be a little lost how to start or how to solve specific problems. I would prefer he starts a discussion for that where he can mention me, but I would also answer to PMs

• Options

Oh, could it be that you are the developer for that task:

Remember that everything you do needs to be done in your own theme folder. Read everything in the docs about theming

• Options

Sorry for the first response, I thought you were the guy who wanted to hire somebody for his theme and now is asking questions for his developer...