Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

ercatliercatli
edited May 2006 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
I'm still new to this stuff, so I hope you can help please (have done every other question I have): 1. I notice all you regular dudes have those little pictures next to your names (I think they're called avatars, but I dunno why). I note a recent discussion on an avatar uploader, but you all had them before then. So how do you do it - more to the point, how can I set up my Vanilla forum so members can do it please? (And why is that uploader useful if you could all do it before then?) 2. I use a Mac and we have 2 at home, one running OS10.3 and the other running OS10.4. The 10.4 machine puts both my new Vanilla forum and the Lussumo Community on the screen correctly. However the 10.3 machine plots the Community Forum OK, but plots mine wrongly - in any page, the posts or the lists are pushed down the page below the text in the left column. I have modified text and colours in my forum, but nothing that I would have thought would have this effect. Does anyone know please why it might do that, and which file in Vanilla I should check out? Thanks

Comments

• 1. You can get yourself an avatar (in vanilla theyre called icons) by going onto your account page and clicking 'Personal Information'. You'll notice a textbox about 2/3 the way down titled 'icon' in which you can put either a relative path or web URL to an image which is what will be used as your icon. The avatar uploader is useful in cases where your users do not have the access/ability to put an image they wish to use on the web and therefore you can use the uploader to offer them the facility to upload an image onto your server for use as their icon.