Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Uploading forum files to new server

edited April 2008 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Hi, I am the new owner of a domain. Prior to taking ownership I was the "webmaster" for the site. Prior to transferring the domain name I backed up all the files from the server. Once the transfer was completed I uploaded all the backup files to the server. However, the forum does not work. This what comes up: Fatal error: Cannot instantiate non-existent class: context in /homepages/22/d240295841/htdocs/forum/appg/init_vanilla.php on line 42 Unfortunately, I was not the original "webmaster" to this site and did not setup this forum. It was working and I didn't bother to learn about it now I'm stuck trying to get it to work. For that reason, I am very new at this so I really could use someone to explain it in laymen terms how I can get the backed up forum files to work when I upload them to the server. I'd like to be able to keep the forum that was on the site but if we have to just start over with a brand new forum then I guess I'll have to accept that. Thanks for your help!!!

Comments

• did you back up the MySQL database, too?
  • I backed up the entire Web site (EVERYTHING)! Can you tell me where I would find the MySQL database? Is it in my "forum" folder or is it in a folder called "Wiki?" Thanks, MJ
  • It's not in either folder and I'm not exactly sure where it would be. However, the MySql database would typically be backed up through your host admin. The backup file would then be FTPd to your computer.