HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

2.1 Email notifications no longer contain post content

I'm an admin and my forum is mostly email-based, that is, most people don't visit the site often, they read email updates and only occasionally respond.

Upgraded to 2.1 last night, and now my discussion and comment email notifications no longer contain the poster's content -- only a link to view the post:

"Daniel commented on [Discussion].

Follow the link below to check it out:
http://etc.

Have a great day!"

Before, all those emails contained the text of the poster's comment (plain text, no html).

Desperately need the email notification content back, and can't find anywhere in the dashboard or user preferences that I could have turned it off. I set up some new dummy accounts with all default notification settings (and various roles), and they all experience the same thing.

How do I get the content back in my email notifications?

My only enabled plugins/apps: WYSIWYG (CLEditor) and Conversations.

Answers

• Also: just noticed that for PM email notifications, message content is still included. But I can't find code differentiating general email notifications vs. PM's that would explain the difference.

Anyone know where I can find that so I can tinker? Feel like I'm taking crazy pills, I don't see anything about it anywhere I would expect to look.

• vrijvlindervrijvlinder Papillon-Sauvage MVP
    edited May 2014

Feel like I'm taking crazy pills

Welcome to the community..

most of that is done in $Definitions which is a locale file.

You should also have the mime type text/html in the config.php for the Garden Email.

$Configuration['Garden']['Email']['MimeType']= 'text/html';

• Will nose around in there. Thanks.

• peregrineperegrine MVP
    edited May 2014

I think the Definition route in vanilla 2.1 may be one of these red herring things...

red herring