Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Novice cannot enable Conversations/private messaging add-on

Novice here, admin for our forum. We had to migrate from a previous Vanilla Forum because our admin literally died in his sleep with all domain/hosting passwords. 35 years old. Anyway, on the "Conversations" (i.e., private messaging) feature, I have that add-on enabled, but when you try to send a message, then you hit "submit," you get a big, angry emoticon, and this message: "Something has gone wrong. We've run into a problem and are unable to handle this request right now. Please check back in a little while."

We have installed version 2.2.1. Is there a known issue, or am I overlooking something incredibly simple?

Answers

• Options
    help_mehelp_me New
    edited November 2016

That's a great question! I have the same problem!

Surely someone here has the answer!!!

• Options
    help_mehelp_me New
    edited November 2016

Novice/Old Man, do not look so angry.

I know a nice person on here will come to our rescue!

• Options

Old Man, I would like to private message you right now!!!

But, alas, I cannot!

• Options

Private messaging is such a basic functionality of any forum-hosting software.

I'm sure it is a very, very simple thing that you and I do not have sufficient brain cells to understand.

Someone with much gray matter will soon comment, and show us how stupid we are!

• Options
    whu606whu606 I'm not a SuperHero; I just like wearing tights... MVP

@help_me

Try searching this forum for 'something has gone wrong' and you will see many. many threads explaining the steps you need to take to find the actual error message.

If you don't understand that error message, post the details here and someone will try to help you.

• Options