HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

PHP Frameworks

ShadowdareShadowdare r_j MVP

Besides Garden, which is the framework that Vanilla runs on, have any of you used other PHP frameworks, such as Symfony, Laravel, Yii, and so on? If so, what are your experiences with them? What kind of programs have you all made with them?

Add Pages to Vanilla with the Basic Pages app

Comments

• LincLinc Detroit Admin
    edited January 2014

Laravel seems to be the fad of the moment. We did a quick "getting started" tutorial on it at our last PHP Meetup and it looked cool, but it suffers from the same sparse documentation as Garden, unfortunately. My takeaway was basically "the same stuff done differently". Garden + Dashboard is still a quicker leap forward for developing a new app IMO.

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

I have no experience with phalcon, but find the theory behind it very, very interesting. The framework is realized as a server extension. Their project was started in C but they have invented their own programming language (zephir) which is a mix of PHP and C to make it easier for their community to contribute. Zephir compiles to C and generates server extensions as well.
    Phalcon 2 will run on their own dogfood: http://www.sitepoint.com/phalcon-2-0-alpha-landing/

Maybe some day someone will try to see how much effort has to be made to compile Garden with zephir... ;)

• x00x00 MVP
    edited January 2014

Performance is not a simple and absolute scale, any abstraction can be a performance hit.

When you do a performance comparison it is very specific to what you what you are testing and how you go about achieving it.

http://www.techempower.com/benchmarks/#section=data-r8&hw=ec2