Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Need to change Welcome message

We have need to change welcome message like 'Welcome to company discussion forum. To be able to participate in the discussions you need to sign up in the forum itself. You cannot use your regular company password - and you are adviced to use a different password here - for security reasons. '

I am new to vanilla forum, Can any one please help on how can i do that?

Comments

• Options
    R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin
  • Options

Thanks for your reply, but i can't find this text anywhere in the file not getting where this message is defined. I don't have access to files on server i have just downloaded everything from net and check but couldn't find the message anywhere :(

• Options

You could change the "Howdy, Stranger!" that way:
    http://vanillaforums.org/discussion/comment/186211#Comment_186211
    Search the forum for "howdy" and you'll find some more discussions about that ;)

• Options

This is not that message :) . this is some other message We don't have to change this message :)

• Options

So you look at your forum and you see the message "Welcome to company discussion forum. To be able to participate in the discussions..."? That is not Vanilla standard, so you would have to describe some more to get help.

Do you see that in the same sidebar module where you see the buttons to sign in / apply for membership? Then I think somebody already has customized the Vanilla standard "Howdy, Stranger!"

Wait - you have said, that you do not have access to the files on the server? You are lost. You can not translate text in Vanilla itself. You have to edit the translation files on the server.

• Options
    hgtonighthgtonight ∞ · New Moderator