Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

How does one modify modules/assets called by default.master.tpl?

Hi all,

First of all: as you might know from previous posts of mine, or will see through this one, I'm pretty new to vanilla, so please forgive my relative incompetence! sorry!

I'm currently trying to tweak the layout of my forums, but I'm having some trouble understanding where I should look for files to modify. I've read the various pages in the documentation and I understand that default.master.tpl is the file that basically calls the various parts of the forum from the php files present in the views directories, and assembles everything together to generate your forum page...

The thing is, for instance I'd like to modify what is displayed in the forums' panel – the corresponding line in default.master.tpl is {asset name="Panel"}, and I did move that line to where I wanted the panel to be displayed, but I can't actually modify the contents. How should I proceed to do that?
Same goes for the modules: there's {module name="MeModule"} but then I found several folders called 'modules', containing several files that could refer to the 'MeModule'. How do I know which one I am to modify?

And, actually, for now I'm only having issues with the assets and modules but I'll probably run into the same problem later on with the views as well – for instance if I want to modify how the discussions list looks, where should I go? There are 2 folders called 'discussion(s)' in applications/vanilla/views, each containing several files, and then there's applications/conversations which could refer to discussions as well, and I'm probably missing some...

So, yeah, I'm a bit confused, haha :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes: Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• peregrineperegrine MVP