Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Add items to Bootstrap

Hi,

I've just succesfully converted from PPHBB3 to Vanilla 2.1 (attachments and all !). I'd like to make a small customization to the excellent Bootstrap theme:

Next to the post, under the user's avatar, I'd like to add a few fields from the Extended Profile Fields plugin. (Oh, and I'd also like to edit the layout of the user's Profile-page.

I'm new to Vanilla and the themingsystem, can somebody give some pointers as to where to start ?

Thanks !

Comments

• BleistivtBleistivt Moderator
    edited October 2014

First, you need to make that information available in the discussion view. The cleanest way is to do it with a plugin:

<?php if (!defined('APPLICATION')) exit();

$PluginInfo['ProfileFieldsInDiscussion'] = array(
        'Name' => 'ProfileFieldsInDiscussion',
        'Description' => 'Show custom profile fields in discussions.',
        'Version' => '0.1',
        'Author' => 'Bleistivt',
    );

class ProfileFieldsInDiscussionPlugin extends Gdn_Plugin {

public function Base_AuthorInfo_Handler($Sender, $Args) {
            $AutorMeta = Gdn::UserMetaModel()->GetUserMeta($Args['Author']->UserID, 'Profile%');

echo ' '.WrapIf(htmlspecialchars(val('Profile.YourField', $AutorMeta)), 'span', array('class' => 'MItem YourField'));
        }

}

Replace YourField with the name of the field.

You can change the position of it with css

.MItem.YourField {
        position: absolute;
        margin: 20px 0px 0px -80px;
    }

For general tips regarding theming and customization, read this:

http://vanillaforums.org/discussion/20231/how-to-become-somewhat-adept-at-modifying-vanilla-to-meet-your-needs-for-free

• whu606whu606 I'm not a SuperHero; I just like wearing tights... MVP