HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Addons directory, version 2

13»

Comments

• BleistivtBleistivt Moderator
    edited October 2014

@Linc said:
    As an administrator, I find the glut of plugin-related bug reports in the main discussions list to be an unfocused annoyance. I'd much rather see plugin & theme feedback as GitHub issues where the author runs the show.

Do you want to force even non-developers to use github?

I actually like that everyone can see the questions people have regarding a plugin, because oftentimes not only the author, but other users of the plugin can help with these too (especially for plugins that have been abandoned). Even the plugins that were created by the vanilla team are mostly supported by the community, e.g. FileUpload and Pockets which, for some reason were never updated here for 2.1.

Many bugs are reported here first, by users that are unfamiliar with github. These would otherwise go unreported.

The plugin-related discussion could be hidden from the main discussions list, though.

By the way, since this forum runs the SaaS-version, wouldn't the post-to-github-functionality be useful here?
    http://blog.vanillaforums.com/features/github-integration-vanilla-forums/

edit: @hgtonight already said everything, he was too fast :(

• peregrineperegrine MVP
    edited October 2014

linc said: As an administrator, I find the glut of plugin-related bug reports in the main discussions list to be an unfocused annoyance. I'd much rather see plugin & theme feedback as GitHub issues where the author runs the show.

yes, for you since you are keenly interested in Vanilla core and vanilla plugins and quite understandable.

but at the same time occasionally issues related to vanilla plugins have not been addressed, i know there are other priorities. But its just shifting chairs around.