Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Converting IPB 3.4.7 to Vanilla 2.2.1 testing

sscadminsscadmin New
edited August 2016 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Hello Everyone

This is my first time using Vanilla Forums and the Vanilla Porter 2.3 so if I am missing something please point me in the right direction.

I was able to run the export fine and it produced an export file I can then import into Vanilla forums. Which this worked fine, but the issues I ran into were these:

• Doesn't look like the 'quote' bbcode was converted properly. Is there a way after the fact to run a sql query to fix the syntax or to have the quote bbcode working? I didn't check all the bbcodes, but this one is the most used bbcode on the IPB forums so it was easy to spot.

• When I ran the export tool, it kept complaining that it couldn't find the avatars folder. Where is this set in the code? Looking in my IPB install looks like my avatars are stored in the '/public_html/ssc/uploads/profile' folder on the server.

• I don't think files/attachments are being captured during the export from IPB. Currently it looks like attachments are stored in '/public_html/ssc/uploads/monthly_' folders on my IPB install and you can see all of the attachments info stored in the ipb_attachements table in IPB. Where would these files or attachments show up in Vanilla forums so I can make sure 3000+ attachments were converted?

I am running dry runs of the export and seeing how it looks in Vanilla forums. I noticed that ranks and possible display names are issues. I disabled display names forum wide in IPB so I will run export again to test to see if this fixes the issue of double names.